Thursday, February 25, 2010

2010 Texas Fellows Announced

Fourteen Texans are among the 134 architects elevated by the AIA to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made contributions of national significance to the profession.

Out of a membership of more than 84,000, fewer than 2,600 AIA members are currently distinguished with the honor of using FAIA after their name. Fellowship is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in the AIA who have made significant contributions in the following areas: the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession; the standards of architectural education, training, and practice; the building industry through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations; advancement of living standards of people through an improved environment; and to society through significant public service.

The new Fellows will be invested in the College of Fellows at the 2010 AIA National Convention and Design Exposition in Miami on June 11.

The following TSA members are 2010 Fellows:

Donna Carter, FAIA, of Carter Design in Austin, was elected to receive this honor because of her leadership within her local community through guidance in planning projects and preservation efforts.

Juan Cotera, FAIA, of Cotera Reed Architects in Austin, was elevated to Fellow for his work to improve the lives of Austin's residents through architecture and planning.

Herman Dyal, FAIA, of Dyal and Partners in Austin, was recognized for his work at the intersection of architecture, graphic design, and wayfinding.

Thomas Harvey, FAIA, of HKS in Dallas, was elected to receive this honor because of his impact on the healthcare environment through research on how architecture influences safety, improves patient outcomes, and increases operating efficiencies while reducing costs.

Diane Hays, FAIA, of the University of Texas at San Antonio, was elected to Fellow for her critical role in forging alliances between academia and the profession to empower students to pursue careers of substance and service.

Kimberly Hickson, FAIA, of Gensler in Houston, was recognized for her contributions to cost-effective sustainable design through collaborative project management and an extensive body of training sessions, presentations, and publications..

Albert "Irby" Hightower, FAIA, of Alamo Architects in San Antonio, was elected to receive this honor because of his leadership in transforming the 13-mile extension of the San Antonio River.

James Tipton "Tip" Housewright, FAIA, of Omniplan in Dallas, was honored for his service to society through his voluntary leadership in transforming numerous organizations and communities.

Joe Mashburn, FAIA, of the University of Houston, was recognized for his mentorship that has significantly contributed to practice and education by influencing architects and educators.

Bob Morris, FAIA, of Corgan Associates in Dallas, was honored for his advancing the profession of architecture through leadership and innovation in the design of mission-critical data centers.

James Nader, FAIA, of Nader Design in Fort Worth, was recognized for his collaborative efforts with a range of faith communities to preserve historic sacred places and his leadership in inspiring architects to contribute significantly to the public good.

Sue Ann Pemberton-Haugh, FAIA, of Main Street Architects in San Antonio, was elected to Fellow for her academic work that takes UTSA students to Mexico where they learn about vanishing building traditions.

Jeff Potter, FAIA, of Potter Architects in Dallas, was honored for his voluntary leadership of the AIA, including service as TSA president in 2004 and as regional director on the AIA Board.

Lars Stanley, FAIA, of Stanley Architects and Artisans in Austin, was elected Fellow in recognition of his passion for craftsmanship in making a diverse range of built projects.

Monday, February 22, 2010

Malarkey Named AIA 'Young Architect'

Brian Malarkey, AIA, of Kirksey in Houston is among nine honorees in this year’s list of AIA “Young Architects.” The Young Architects Award is given to individuals who have shown exceptional leadership and made significant contributions to the profession in an early stage of their architectural career. 

Architect members of the AIA who have been licensed to practice architecture fewer than 10 years by the submission deadline are eligible to be nominated.

A graduate of Texas A&M University, Malarkey serves as an executive vice president with Kirksey and as the firm’s director of eco-services. His work with the AIA has included chairing the Houston chapter’s Committee on the Environment in 2003 and presiding over the chapter as its president in 2008.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

AIA Recognizes Texas Architect

The AIA has recognized Texas Architect with its Collaborative Achievement Award. Read about the honor here:

Institute Honors for Collaborative Achievement are given by the American Institute of Architects to recognize and encourage distinguished achievements of allied professionals, clients, organizations, architect teams, knowledge communities, and others who have had a beneficial influence on or advanced the architectural profession.